Blog Home

CEO Simone Joyce Wins Lord Mayor’s Global Entrepreneur Program

Passionate about funny Instagram captions and Google Analytics.

Dec 4, 2023
Fintech News

We are very proud to share the news that Simone Joyce, our CEO, has been selected as one of the winners of the Lord Mayor’s Global Entrepreneur Program.  This award recognizes the work of Simone and the whole team at Paypa Plane in growing the company and our products from concept to rapid growth and partnerships with some leading Australian Enterprise and Banking companies over the past 24 months.

The announcement was made today by Lord Mayor Adrian Schrinner, providing not just recognition and valuable publicity for emerging Brisbane businesses but also a cash prize aimed at helping to expand into global markets.

“From revolutionary coffee machines to integrated payment systems and unmanned aerial vehicles, the grants will help recipients expand their markets and reach new audiences. These businesses each have a great future ahead of them”

Cr Schrinner said.

We couldn’t agree more with Brisbane Chief Digital Officer Cat Matson who said:

"beyond the grants, it was support from within the entrepreneurial ecosystem that can be critical for new businesses".

"We continually recognise and are grateful for the early-stage support that we have received and are receiving from organisations, Digital Brisbane. The Lord Mayors Office and a multitude of individuals. The ecosystem for high-growth early-stage businesses is so integral to their success (nowhere is this truer than in the Fintech sector) and programs like the LMGEP are an important part of those ecosystems."

said Simone

Whilst the nominated recipient of this award, Simone credits the Paypa Plane team for not only creating an industry-changing product but also for sharing in her vision of agile and accessible in-bank payment services where both businesses and their customers can have a better and more satisfying payment experience.

Read the full article:

We'd love to give a shout out to the other grant recipients:

Geoff Michelmore AREMDE

Magnus Murray Douglas & Tom Watkins Australian Droid & Robot

Sean Melis & Jay Farrellbot•hello

Chelsea MurphyPlayBook

Dion Jensen REVA Hospitality

Rebecca Kroon Robe

Darren Oliver & Simon Turner SensaWeb

Damian Bielinski & Caleb Yeoh TravelbyBit

Owen Beard Universal Field Robots

And highly commended:

Victor VicarioArc Hardware Incubator

Colin Cheng StickyCell